Good News Shared

At last the summer has arrived and we’re enjoying fine, sunny weather. What better way to celebrate this than spend the day indoors…. painting of course! I had promised to reveal which painting it was I had sold and now it is time to relieve the suspense.

On 16 May, Jenny became the proud owner of ‘Bird of Paradise’.

Jenny L - Proud new owner of Bird of Paradise
Jenny L – Proud new owner of Bird of Paradise

While of course I’m immensely pleased to have sold my first paining, there is also a tinge of sadness for me, as this was my favourite piece, and so it is difficult to part with it. I’m happy in the knowledge though that this painting will have a good home in China! Thanks Jenny.

Meanwhile, I have been busy this weekend with my first commission piece and have made a start with the background. I found a fabulous olive green paint in Delft on Saturday and this will be taking pride of place in this piece. I’m looking forward to getting started on the next stage.

In addition, I painted a new abstract piece called ‘The Waxing Wave’. Please check this out in my painting gallery. I keep returning to the wave style in my paintings and this time I have done this in a more literal sense. This painting was inspired by a small image in a Japanese/Chinese book I’ve been reading*. I’m thinking I may do a whole series in this theme in a variety of styles.

Dieuwke Swain
Fine Artist & Photographer
DESigns

* ‘The Samurai’s Garden’ by Gail Tsukiyama (http://us.macmillan.com/author/gailtsukiyama)

Leave a Reply

